Reshaping Rochester Awards

Event Information

6th Annual Reshaping Rochester Awards
Thursday, November 17, 2016
11:45 AM - 1:30 PM
Temple B'Rith Kodesh
2131 Elmwood Ave

Awards Planning Committee

Jean Dalmath
Maria Furgiuele
Roslyn Bakst Goldman
Jason Haremza
Amy Hecker
Suzanne Mayer
Bill Price

Reshaping Rochester Awards

Reshaping Rochester Award Categories and Past Winners

Robert Macon Award for Urban Innovation

This award, established to honor the late architect Robert Macon, is given for a building, development, or planning effort that has contributed in a unique way to the community and earned praise for its unique solution to urban design and the built environment.

2015 Winner: Culver Road Armory
Honorable Mention: DePaul

2014 Winner: Edgemere Development Inc.
Honorable Mention: Birkett Landing

2013 Winner: Memorial Art Gallery Centennial Sculpture Park
Honorable Mention: Rochester Schools Modernization Program

2012 Winner: I-490 Western Gateway Project
Honorable Mention: Urban League of Rochester Economic Development Corporation for The Mills at High Falls

2011 Winner: University of Rochester for the Eastman East Wing Addition and Kodak Hall

Betty Strasenburgh Award for Activism
This award, named in honor of Rochester activist Betty Strasenburgh, celebrates civic spirit, persistence and determination that translate vision into reality. It recognizes an individual who has made a personal effort to go beyond boundaries to achieve a goal. These efforts must have made a visible change in a community, and affected people's thinking about the need to pursue challenging paths toward a productive end.

2015 Winner: Roz Goldman
Honorable Mention: Corn Hill Neighbors Association

2014 Winner: Peter Monacelli
Honorable Mention: Project Scion

2013 Winner: Richard DeSarra, Bicycle Activist
Honorable Mention: Joseph Avenue Business Association

2012 Winner: Marketview Heights Collective Action Team
Honorable Mention: Tom Ferraro, Executive Director of Foodlink

2011 Winner: Jim Fraser and Jo Dickinson for Community Revitalization efforts in the Clifford/Conkey Neighborhood

Directors' Award
This award, given by CDCR's Board of Directors, recognizes an individual or organization that has advanced the level of community design, planning, policy and financial competency, achieving visible success over a period of time; following best practices; communicating a vision to the community; maintaining sound financial management; and demonstrating steps to sustain continued success.

2015 Winner: Paul Kramer
Honorable Mention: Mike Governale

2014 Winner: Gary Stern for the creation of The Village Gate
Honorable Mention: Genesee Land Trust for their work on the El Camino Trail

2013 Winner: South Wedge Planning Committee
Honorable Mention: The Perry Project, Perry, NY

2012 Winner: City of Rochester Public Market
Honorable Mention: The Cultural Center Commission

2011 Winner: Village of Pittsford for Leadership in Planning

Joni Monroe Award
The newest Award created in 2015 to honor past Executive Director, Joni Monroe.

2015 Winner: Joni Monroe